Pre-Primary Programme

Learning Areas

The following are the six learning areas outlined in the framework, through which children acquire knowledge, skills and learning dispositions:

• Aesthetics and Creative Expression

• Discovery of the World

• Language and Literacy

• Motor Skills Development

• Numeracy

• Social and Emotional Development

Aesthetics and Creative Expression

Children enjoy creative expression and should be given opportunities to explore their environment and indulge in creative play and self-expression through art and music and movement.

Discovery of the World

Children are naturally curious and their sense of wonder should be nurtured and sustained. They should be encouraged to observe, ask questions and make sense of the world around them.

Language and Literacy

Language and Literacy is important in children’s overall thought and learning development. Exposure to language-related activities such as role-playing, singing, rhyming and reading will develop their ability to listen with understanding and to communicate with others.

Motor Skills Development

Children’s gross and fine motor skills develop over time and influence their physical fitness, agility and coordination. Children should be given ample space and time for physical play to develop their sense of balance, physical co-ordination and spatial awareness.


Being numerate enables children to understand and apply mathematical concepts, skills and processes effectively. Thus, children will be able to make sense of their encounters with mathematics in their daily lives.

Social and Emotional Development

Effective social and emotional development instills healthy self-esteem in children. Children are taught to manage their feelings, thoughts and behaviour which will allow them to form strong and meaningful relationships later in life.